We call the title sequence for OFFF St. Petersburg “Skazka” - russian; from the same root as the verb “to say” — skazat. Understood as “that which is told”. 
Skazka is a sequence inspired by the collaborative creative process and told as a ‘conjuring’. We meet. We build. We collide. We find our way to each other again. We grow stronger from it. There is magic in that and we sought to celebrate it.
As a project it was a thought experiment rendered in two ways; one as a film and another as an interactive experience in which the concept was extrapolated through real time 3D on a webGL platform with our collaborators at Goo Technologies. The sum of it brought whole new creative possibilities to light.
The film’s animations and design are all built from ‘real human input’. The characters are motion captured dancers. The typography was hand painted and then rebuilt in 3D. The textures and colors are all inky explorations shot and then manipulated in digital space. Skazka are where the digital and analog commingle.
This was largely an experimental process involving choreographing two dancers, working with motion capture data, executing with temperamental particle systems, studying calligraphy, tinkering with chemical and ink compounds, and banging our heads against the wall until we found flickering glimmers of success in territories we previously had zero experience with.
Director: Rama Allen
Art Director: Christopher Palazzo
Executive Producer: Danielle Amaral
Producer: Jason Bartnett, Tia Perkins
Director of Photography: Adam Carboni
Soundscapes: Fall On Your Sword
Music: Darkness Falls
Editor: Charlotte Carr
Executive Producer: Danielle Amaral
Producer: Jason Bartnett
Pre-Viz: Navdeep Singh
Colorist: Michael Rossiter
Coordinator: Georgina Castle
Technical Director: Andreas Berner
Lead Designer: Yossanun Sangpattharamatee
Particle Designer: Gabriel Pulecio 
Designers: Yossanun Sangpattharamatee, Gabriel Pulecio, Christopher Palazzo, Viraj Ajmeri
Typography Design: Christopher Palazzo
Animation & Compositing: Gabriel Pulecio, Viraj Ajmeri, Anthony Dodero, Lloyd Alvarez, Dave Rogers, Ashley Tyas, Justin Bakies, York Capistrano, Yossanun Sangpattharamatee, Christopher Palazzo
NYIT: Matt Cornelius, Steve Gehrhardt, Joseph Kerkovich, Raymond Martinez
Special Thanks: Heather Fullerton, Boo Wong, Eduard Dimasov, Joseph Hodgson
Back to Top